St. John The Baptist Parish Public Schools

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
Please Create A Marquee

Superintendent establishes student Superintendent's Council

Superintendent Kevin George has established his first Superintendent’s Council to gather input from students about their schools.

Each high school has a council, with students chosen by the school administration, that will meet with the superintendent once a month.

“I thought it was important to give our students a voice and an avenue to offer their feedback,” George said. “After all, they are the ones in our schools every day and they are who our decisions affect the most.”

George had his first meeting with the students on Sept. 11 and gathered input about what students felt were positives about their schools and what they would like to see changed or improved.

West St. John High School students championed the family atmosphere of their school, how they are personally greeted each morning by Principal Claude Hill and how their teachers feel like family members who genuinely care that they succeed. To improve, students said they would like the district to further expand college and career courses, have more active clubs and bring vending machines to campus.

East St. John High School students said they love the increase in school spirit this year, that their administration has worked with them on rules regarding dress code and cell phone use and new apps that allow them to ask their teachers questions outside of class and get reminders about assignments or tests. They said they’d like to see additional classes, especially theater, a talent show and more help with financial aid and testing for college.

George said he would be meeting with administrators at the schools to discuss the students’ concerns and report back to the students at the next council meeting.

The Superintendent’s Council at West St. John High School is made up of students Dejanae Frank, Briana Grayman, Amyri Lopez, Alyjah Borne, Talika Howard, Maya Sanders, Zian Bryant, Tre’Shon Barnes, Covan Barnes and Christopher Holmes.

Students on the East St. John High School Superintendent’s Council are Ni’Jae Weston, Logan Mitchell, Aaliyah Johnson, Corey Samuel, Kaila Hall, Angelique’ Hunt, Julianna Chalas, Tahyri Bolden, Alexxus Williams, Jaylin Darensbourg, Tyree’ Tuircuit, Audra Verret, Shaelin Keller and Trinity Slade.